Select Page

Your email address will not be published. But I’ll get back to that in a section below (the ‘banned list’). This tense appears in three different forms in Spanish conversations. We can categorise irregular gerunds in Spanish into two groups: stem-changing and completely irregular. Great, then your next step is to put some of it to use. Español: Ahora mismo, estás leyendo este artículo. Your lessons are outstanding, both in content and presentation and tend to be comprehensive as well as exhaustive. : Understanding your accent is difficult – entender su acento es difícil. Although, if you do express an idea using this construction, it doesn’t have to be negative. !Gracias! Again, this needs to be in the present tense: English: Right now, I’m going to the gym.Español: Ahora mismo, voy al gimnasio. Note, however, that you also could say "I am studying" as "Estudio." Your email address will not be published. You are running. All of these examples translate really well to Spanish. Sometimes the present progressive in English translates to the normal present tense in Spanish. In Spanish, the progressive forms put additional emphasis on the continuing nature of the action, although the distinction isn't readily translatable. I learned a lot! But, if it happens that one year it is uncharacteristically cold, you would hear: English: It is really cold this summer. The verb is on the ‘banned list’ for gerunds. The last topic for this article is about Spanish phrases that use gerunds, apart from estar. A very interesting lesson indeed. Español: Hace mucho calor este verano. Muy interesante. I’m only going to briefly introduce ‘perifrasis verbales‘ here because the topic could be a whole article on its own. Pero correct me if I am wrong: I think you should include “ir + gerund” to the “phrases with gerund” part. If it is habitually hot every year, then you’ll hear this idea expressed in the present tense. This is because these verbs are on the ‘banned list’ for Span